Scenic Artist Adventures: The Power of Research

For Savage in Limbo, I learned what I was ultimately going to need to learn was one of the most difficult techniques in the art of scenic artistry – creating wood texture. Since I knew not much about it, I did what anyone with a thirst for knowledge and a need for instruction with helpful imagery would do. I hit the library. I went to UB’s Lockwood Library after looking up what section Scenic Artistry books were kept. After perusing through their selection, I ended up checking out 3 books – Theatrical Scenic Painting: A Lesson Guide by William H. Pinnell, Scene Painting: Tools and Techniques by Daniel Veaner, and Scenic Art for the Theatre: History, Tools, and Techniques by Susan Crabtree and Peter Beudert. William H. Pinnell’s book is the one I find most helpful, for it gives step-by-step instructions on different techniques for creating wood through paint alongside some images.

I presented my findings to Prof. Dyan Burlingame. She then asked me to create a “recipe” list for creating a wood texture.

Next Step? Creating paint samples!

Leave a Thought

