Theatre Travels: Hello, Cincinnati! USITT 2015

So, this past week, instead of partaking in the usual Spring Break activities (i.e. sleeping in, visiting family, sweating to death in Florida), I decided to invest in going to my first USITT (The United States Institute for Theatre Technology).

Costumes of Cincinnati Ballet - Peter Pan

Costumes of Cincinnati Ballet – Peter Pan

Now, my goals for this trip were fairly simple – to enjoy some helpful workshops, have fun, get some swag, and figure out my plans post-graduation. I spent the week prior preparing my resume (which has been added as a sub-page under my about me page tab), creating business cards, and of course, making sure my wardrobe was perfected.

I attended with my good friends and colleagues Kassidy Coburn, Joseph A Franjoine, Spencer Harder, and Zach Bowen, as well as with my professor Jon Shimon. I stayed in a crappy motel with Kassidy, Joseph, and Spencer because we couldn’t afford the nicer hotels. We had to get up early for workshops. I had to get out of my shell and actually talk to people.

Costumes of the Cincinnati Ballet

Costumes of the Cincinnati Ballet

 

And….

Me flying at the Foy Booth

Me flying at the Foy Booth

….I honestly don’t regret any of it.

A lot of wonderful experiences happened. I made some funny memories. And I got some opportunities presented to me. I am unsure as to what I’ll be doing next, but I have some things to consider now. If any of you out there are wondering whether the money for this trip is worth it, stop questioning. Just go!*

 

 

Leave a Thought

